Survivor


I found out recently that a very good friend of mine sent in a video to CBS to be on the very popular reality series, Survivor.  To say that this would be a dream of mine as well would be a serious understatement.  Ive watched the series, like millions for 10 years.  Ive picked my favorites, laughed at the monumental mistakes so many players make time and time again and know that I would never ever make those same mis-calculations of judgement and gameplay.

My only reason for not sending in the video myself has been my health and the act of selfishness that it would be if I did get chosen.  When I looked at the video that Debi sent it, I realized that without risk, there is no joy.  If you dont try, you wont know if you ever would have succeeded.  I have made a decision.  I am going to spend the next 18 months getting in shape for the slim chance that maybe by some miracle I might get picked.

I have to try.  My family has always supported the idea and I have an ace in the hole.  I have a daughter that I can think about every day when I cant take the rain anymore.  One thought about just one of her 45 surgeries will give me the strength to go one more day.  I have a son that I can think about when I just want to smack an opponent.  His smile and ability to make me laugh will carry me on.  I have a 7 year old little “bit” that I can think about that will remind me of how much she cost to bring into this world and is the reason I am playing…to get her to college.

I have a husband, who I can think about at any moment of any day and sigh with relief that he hasn’t killed the children.  I will know that my house will be a zoo, a wreck and the dogs will eat junk food every day, but that he will be watching with a house full of friends who will be cheering me on as I smash my way through slugs who leave with idols in hand and mistakes marked on their backs forever. I will do it with a smile so fierce and loving, they wont know what hit them.

So look out everyone.  I am coming.  Blogging has given me the spirit and Debi has offered me the challenge of a lifetime.  In the meantime, check her out and lets hope she grabs a seat on the Survivor train, without her cigs and coffee, it could be interesting!  I applaud your courage to get it done with your submission, you have become my hero! http://www.cbs.com/primetime/survivor/casting_call/video_player.php?vid=14111&playvid=yes

Good luck!

About wigsbabe

Never be the Mediator... be the writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Survivor

  1. Sheila says:

    Hey. Hey. Wait…I thought I was your hero! HA HA HA !!! Do it Sue – just do it! I LOVE that Debi has done this 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Survivor | wigsbabe -- Topsy.com

  3. Wow! This can be 1 of the top blogs I’ve actually arrive throughout on this subject. Merely Magnificent

Leave a Reply

