Von Willebrand Disease


If you clicked to read this you either have the disorder or can’t figure out what it is. It’s a pain, that’s what. It is the name of a disorder in your blood where your platelets don’t clot like they are supposed to. The simple medical explanation can be read below:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0001571/

What it means to me is that I bruise easily and if I get a scratch or a cut, it takes a very long time to clot and heal. If I have dental work done or any kind of surgeries, I am pretreated with DDAVP’s. Pretty cool huh? No, not really.

I can’t play any contact sport now and have to watch all medications to make sure they won’t affect this disorder.  About 9 years ago I fell down the stairs and broke the top of my foot.  I bruised so quickly, the Orthopaedic surgeon thought I had done it the day before and actually argued with my husband and myself about the time of injury.  This was pre-diagnosis and it was a very frustrating time.

Platelets

I was put in a boot and took six months to heal.   I still don’t feel on the top of that foot and the scar is there to remind me of the fall.  I wasn’t diagnosed until I was pregnant with Darien in 2003.  At least I finally knew what was causing all the bruising’s and long healing times.  I still scar to this day and have to be very careful if I do play around with the dog or the kids.

I bet you thought you knew everything there was to know about me right? Life is fun. I really loved volleyball too and miss playing. Stupid platelets. Stupid body and thanks to the relative out there who passed it down as it is hereditary.

About wigsbabe

Never be the Mediator... be the writer.
This entry was posted in Health, Pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

